Short answer
Pick Gamma if you want a free path that already produces a full deck and exports PPTX, and you can live with a badge on the output. Pick Decktopus if you are ready to pay, want one step from topic to deck, and need PDF, PPT and PNG export in one plan. Neither tool has been timed by us yet, so this comparison rests on what each vendor documents. In this post, an AI slide maker is a tool that builds an editable deck from a prompt.
What we compared
Every figure comes from a vendor page read on October 17, 2026. Gamma’s pricing page returned an error when we fetched it directly, so Gamma’s plan facts come from its help center articles and a search excerpt of its pricing page. Decktopus facts are taken from its pricing page, read directly. We did not run either product for this post.
| Field | Gamma | Decktopus |
|---|---|---|
| Free plan | 400 credits, one-time, no refresh | Not listed on Decktopus’s pricing page |
| Slides per prompt, free | 10 | Not documented on the pages we read |
| Export on free plan | Google Slides, PDF, PPTX and PNG, with a badge | Export listed on Pro and above |
| Badge removal | Plus and above | No badge described |
| Monthly credits, paid | Plus 1,000; Pro 4,000 | Pro 750 |
| Published price | Not stated; pricing page unavailable to us | Pro $9.99 billed annually; $24.99 billed monthly |
| Time to playable deck | Not timed | Not timed |
Where Gamma leads
Two claims from official help pages carry the argument. First, the free plan generates content: Gamma’s upgrade guide says the free plan can generate up to 10 slides in a single prompt, and its 400 starter credits do not refresh. Second, export on the free plan includes PPTX, so you can open the output in PowerPoint before you pay. The cost is the badge and a credit budget that does not renew each month. The Gamma upgrade guide lists the free limits, and the Gamma credit guide explains how paid credits roll over.
Where Decktopus leads
Decktopus describes one path on its pricing page: enter a topic or upload a file, and Studio generates structure, content and design together. The Pro plan is listed at $9.99 a month on annual billing, which is the lowest annual USD list price we read for any tool in this list. Pro includes 750 AI credits monthly, which the page equates to about 150 slides. It also lists PDF, PPT and PNG export. The page describes a rehearsal feature called Loop; we did not test it, so we do not rate it.
Decktopus fits best when you already expect to pay for a subscription. The Decktopus pricing page has the full plan table.
Speed: what we can and cannot say
Neither vendor states a generation time that we could verify, and our own timing has not been run. Both pages describe a short path from prompt to draft, which is why this post shows steps instead of seconds.
In a timed run we would start the clock at the first keystroke, stop it when the first complete draft is visible on screen, and repeat the same brief three times. We would then report the median. Until that run exists, a sentence saying one tool is faster would be invented, so this post does not contain one. The timing rules are set out in our methodology.
Who each option suits
- Choose Gamma if you want to test the output before paying, and you accept a badge and a limited credit budget.
- Choose Decktopus if you plan to pay for a subscription, want PDF, PPT and PNG in the same plan, and do not need a free path.
- Choose neither if your audience only needs a file built inside PowerPoint or Google Slides. The Plus AI and Gemini comparison covers that case.
Evidence and method
Sources: the Gamma help center articles and the Gamma pricing excerpt, read on October 17, 2026, and the Decktopus pricing page, read directly on the same date. Limits: the Gamma pricing page did not load for direct fetch, so no Gamma dollar price appears in this post. No generation times were measured. Credits are vendor units, and they are not comparable across tools because each vendor counts them differently.
Limits
Vendor plans change. Read the current figure on each vendor page before you buy, and treat the table above as a snapshot from the date in the byline.
Questions readers ask
Is Gamma faster than Decktopus?
We have not timed either tool, so we cannot say which one is faster. Both documented paths start from one prompt. Our next run will time both with the same brief.
Which of the two has a free plan?
Gamma's help center documents a free plan with 400 one-time credits. Decktopus's pricing page lists paid plans only.
Which one costs less?
On annual billing, Decktopus Pro is listed at $9.99 per month, the lowest annual USD price we found across the list. Gamma's paid prices are not stated here because its pricing page did not load for us.